The Magic of Morning   Leave a comment

So, my husband works nights. And if I’m working (which I hope to be doing soon), he’s the one that has to get up with the baby. Which means she needs to be on his schedule. And that means that when I’m not working, I tend to fall into their schedule of staying up until 2am or later and sleeping in until 2pm or later. But now that I have an office for myself, a deadline (ABNA submissions begin January 25th), and the prospect of less time in the very near future (as soon as I get scheduled at H&R Block), I realized that sleeping on their schedule meant that when I was awake, they were awake. And when they’re awake, I have trouble getting writing stuff done. There’s just so much other stuff to do. Diaper changes, meals, the required cuddling with the baby time. It all adds up to not much writing work done.

So, I set the alarm for a few hours earlier. And I actually got up. And I actually went into my office, and I managed to work uninterrupted for three hours. It was probably the most productive I’ve been since NaNoWriMo. And it just started my day off on a good foot. I ended up feeling more on top of things for the rest of the day. Which was really a great feeling. And it will definitely encourage more “early” mornings when I can manage them. ¬†Also, since I woke up early, but the baby’s bedtime didn’t move, it was basically like adding 2-3 hours to my day. And really, I didn’t need to be sleeping so much anyway.

As an aside, typing on a computer is much less comfortable when you’re trying to keep your heating bill low so the thermostat is set a little lower than usual. I almost went to get my gloves. Especially since the vent in that room is closed and we haven’t put plastic over the window yet (we’re way behind with that stuff). It was definitely a chilly three hours of work. But that just meant I had to focus on the writing in order to keep from getting too cold.

Posted January 11, 2010 by maidenfine in ABNA, Writing

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

