Quitting   3 comments

I have decided to quit. Not just NaNoWriMo, but writing in general. I will never be a published author and it’s time that I accept that. So, I updated my word count with everything I’ve done so far, and it will increase a little bit because I’ll be co-writing scenes with Sotalia so that hers gets done. But I doubt I’ll hit 50K like that.

It’s just not supposed to be hard like this. I understand that it’s hard to get published, but it shouldn’t be hard to write. I shouldn’t feel guilty about it. I shouldn’t sit down to do it and feel like I’m shirking my responsibilities. I shouldn’t feel like I’m neglecting my daughter. But I do.

So if it comes down to my family or my writing, and it seems that it has, I choose my family. I’ll just have to get used to being an utterly normal person.

I hope this will make my husband happy.

Posted November 16, 2008 by Maidenfine in NaNoWriMo, Writing

3 responses to “Quitting

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m sorry to hear you’re quitting writing. I get that sometimes you have to choose between family and passions. And it’s hard to juggle all of your mother-wife-etc responsibilities while balancing a word count on your nose.

    I hope though that you find a way to still pursue something that (at one point, anyway) you loved. Even if it’s only writing down stories for your daughter or doing a lot of blogging. Heck, even telling people stories out loud counts as writing. It’s just a different medium.

    Anyway, best of luck

  2. I quit writing a few years ago when I went back to school to get my teaching certificate. Now, as a teacher with three years under my belt, I will likely start up writing again. It turns out that it was an itch that just never quite went away. All of the pressures from before (kids, work, marriage) are still the same, but everyone has grown up a little and it has made the possibility of writing a possibility again.

    Don’t worry, it’s clearly something that is not the right time for you now, but that doesn’t mean that it won’t ever be the right time for you. The other part that you have to remember is that not everyone will get published. Maybe resetting your goals makes a lot of sense and you come to realize that publishing is a side effect of writing, not a goal of writing. In the end, the writing needs to be for you or it’s meaningless anyway.

    Good luck with the future and don’t let the present get you down too much :-)

    No One.

  3. Pingback: How CHAOS Affects Everything « Maidenfine's Musings

Leave a Reply

