Winning and New Years Resolutions   3 comments

So, despite my absolute low in the middle of the month, and the difficulties I was having with my husband, and the general difficulties that Sotalia and I discovered about connecting novels (ie, we both took word count hits from joint scenes, we could only move as fast as each other, etc), I still managed to slide across the finish line this morning and win NaNoWriMo. But as usual in November, achieving something like this makes me reevaluate that things I do during the rest of the year. And this year, I’m already working on my New Years Resolutions. I haven’t actually made New Years Resolutions in years. But I’m really feeling like maybe I need to start making them. Like maybe they’ll give me a little more direction in my life. So as far as my writing goes, I’ve already figured out my resolution. During 2009, I resolve to finish 5 writing projects. I have so much unfinished stuff and I really need to take care of it. I let myself be held back by my unfinished things and when I allow myself to be held back, my husband feels like I’m not taking my writing seriously. So then when I try to take it seriously, he resists because he doesn’t understand. So I’m hoping to turn things around, start taking it seriously, not letting myself get in my own way. And maybe come next NaNoWriMo, my husband will be more supportive.

3 responses to “Winning and New Years Resolutions

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations!!! I completely understand what it feels like to get in your own way. Isn’t the NaNo journey amazing?

  2. Congrats on your NaNo WIN!!! It is an amazing accomplishment…be proud, be ecstatic, get a good night’s sleep!

  3. Pingback: How CHAOS Affects Everything « Maidenfine's Musings

Leave a Reply

