My Thoughts on Watchmen   Leave a comment

DISCLAIMER: If you have not seen Wanted, and plan to, you might just skip this.

I am a character person. I can put up with a lot of things, just because that’s how a character is. Like some of my characters who use way more swear words than I’m completely comfortable with. Or characters with weird fetishes or whatever.

As a character person, my favorite scene in Wanted was the scene where Angelina Jolie’s character died. Because it was a point in the plot, where the writers had a choice. She could do what her character would do (and conveniently get the MC out of a pickle), or she could preserve herself. And the fact that she killed everyone in that circle, including herself, made that a great movie. For me. It was what she had to do.

So, understanding that about me, understand that I can handle that Dr. Manhattan runs around all naked throughout Watchmen. It’s because of his increasing detachment from the world. He just doesn’t live up to our standards. He isn’t bound by a moral code that says, “Hey, put some damn pants on.” So I get that. But seriously, after a while, the full-frontal male nudity gets uncomfortable.  And really, after showing us that he runs around naked once or twice, all the shots could have been done from the waist up and we’d still know.

We stopped at a gas station on our way home and the clerk asked how the movie was. My response was “It’s good if you can sit through it.”

“So, it’s not good?” he asked.

But the thing is, it was good. At the end of the movie, I liked it. I thought it was thought-provoking and it had something to say and it left me thinking about the movie long after we’d left the theater. But at least half a dozen people walked out of the theater. And there were only about 30-40 people in there to begin with. And I think the reason is partly the male full-frontal that at one point just gets a little ridiculous.

And the fact that the previews make it seem more X-Men than Sin City and it is definitely more like the latter. The characters pretty much just happen to be superheroes. So if you’re looking for a big action flick where the good guys are really good and the bad guys are really bad, this is sooooo not your movie. No matter what it looks like on TV.

But I really did like it.

Posted March 9, 2009 by Maidenfine in Movies, Randomness

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

