Twilight Zone Good Week   1 comment

I have been having the weirdest week ever, where I keep getting bad news, but I’m happy. This never happens. I am not generally an optimist. I am a pessimist. When I get sick, I google my symptoms and worry about all the terrible things I could have (thanks for passing that one down, Mom). I am a worrier. I worry about everything. It is seriously all kinds of abnormal for me to be this positive. But I like it.

On Monday, I found out I have a bladder infection. Boo, right? Well, due to the aforementioned googling of symptoms, I was worried about diabetes. Which seems random, but I have PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome) which greatly increases my risk of diabetes. So it was actually a legitimate worry. But I’m totally cool with a bladder infection. I’m on antibiotics and I should be rid of it in a week.

Then, just before bed, I found out about the quarterfinals for ABNA. I already blogged all about that, so I’m not going into it.

On Tuesday, I found out I have an abscessed tooth. Which was sort of what we suspected, even though I haven’t been having any pain. Now, the worrying for this one came from money. The dentist always needs it up front. So if I needed a root canal (which was the recommendation), it would be quite a chunk out of my pocket ($350 copay for the root canal, plus $387 for the crown). I’ve been trying to get a laptop or a netbook for a while so that I can work on writing stuff even on nights when the hubby is home and takes the computer. So this was not happy news. But, since it’s my very back tooth, and I don’t chew on that side, and there’s no guarantee that the tooth would actually be saved by the root canal, we’re just going to pull it. And that is much, much cheaper ($35 copay to pull that one and the wisdom tooth on that side). I was already on antibiotics for the bladder infection, so the dentist was happy about that. And I’m happy that my dental issue isn’t going to cost me an arm and a leg.

On Wednesday, I sent out my first query letter. This query letter was 50 million times better than my ABNA pitch, but I still didn’t expect anything to come of it. How many published authors say they got it on the first try? Close enough to none that I wasn’t expecting anything but a rejection. I queried an agent that is notoriously fast, and about three hours later, had my first rejection. And it made me happy. I’m going to print it out and frame it. I have been writing since I was in elementary school. But calling myself a writer has started to feel like a lie. Yes, I write. I write a LOT. But if I never do anything with it, is it fair to take on the title of “writer” or “author?” So now, I’m not lying when I say I’m a writer. And I even have a rejection letter to show for my efforts. I’ve already sent out a new query and I’ve got the next one drafted in my email, ready to go if I need it. I figure, if most published authors got at least 100 rejections before getting a book deal, I’ve got 99 more to go. Or 199. Or 299. But eventually, I’ll hit the person who sees what I see in my book. Until then, I kinda like this weird, positive me that’s taking rejection so well.

One response to “Twilight Zone Good Week

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oh!!! god
    stop worrying so much dear..You are spending the money on your health..what values more for you money or health?

Leave a Reply

