Ancient History (in Computer Years)   2 comments

Raise your hand if you know what DOS is. Keep it up if you’ve ever actually used it.

Yeah. That’s what I thought.

So, on days when I hate my job, it’s all because of DOS. The office runs off of a DOS database, which is a bit of a pain in the ass. Mostly, I know that I’m spoiled because I’ve been using Access for things like that since I got out of high school. And Microsoft Works was almost Windows based, so even that was faster and easier to use than this thing. It does its job, but I can do it faster in Access. And the real concern, is what happens if that computer crashes or gets corrupted? As it is, the computer we’re using was an old one they lucked into because my mom had just bought it off my little sister’s school  (have I mentioned that this used to be my mom’s job).

Anyhow, when my mom had the job, she created an Access database that does the exact same thing. The only problem is,  it’s been a problem getting the other two offices to switch. So I still have to keep the DOS database updated so I can send them the information. But Access is so much faster for searches and queries (don’t even ask how long it took me to figure out reports in that damn DOS program), and the reports can be made to look so much nicer. So what does this mean? It means, I double-enter EVERYTHING. I open everything twice. I close everything twice. It’s really a pain in the ass. And it means when we get swamped, I get double-swamped. 40 to 50 claims in a day is like getting 80 to 100. Not pretty.

So that’s why my JOB has been killing my brain lately. Hard to keep up when I have to do everything twice.

Nonetheless, things have slowed down (though there was a storm last night, so we’ll see how that goes). And as they’ve slowed down, I’ve started to feel less mentally absent. That, along with a three-day weekend and a small trip, has made me feel so much better. I actually wrote over 2000 words last week on my WIP. Not a lot, I know. But that’s more than I wrote in the entire month before that. So I’m calling it a victory. And if this trend continues, I will probably be singing praises to the Eee PC next week.

Posted June 2, 2009 by Maidenfine in Randomness, Writing

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 responses to “Ancient History (in Computer Years)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you need to get a program written to synchronize the two databases.

  2. If only I had the know-how to do that. It would also help if the two databases were on the same computer. But the DOS database is on a second computer, because that computer is really too slow to handle most of the day to day stuff that I deal with in phone calls. I’ve sent some options to the boss. We’ll see if anything ever happens.

Leave a Reply

