Being a Night Owl   Leave a comment

I have been babysitting a couple young kids and it has reaffirmed something for me: I am a night person.

I always sort of knew this. I can generally stay up till 2am, no matter how early I got up. I tend to think of my best ideas and get a spurt of energy around midnight. I can get more housework done at midnight than any other time of day. I just love how the distractions sort of taper off and things seem like they take a little less time when it’s late.

When I was working, I had to be there at 8:30 and we live maybe 10 minutes away, so I’d pretty much roll out of bed at 10 after 8 and still get there on time. I was tired a lot, but it wasn’t too bad. While I’ve been babysitting, I’ve had to be there at 7:30 and they live across town so I’ve had to get up between 6:30 and 7. And it’s killing me. I feel like an old lady when I’m ready to pass out at 5 and I’m actually going to bed at 10. And I feel more and more tired every day. It’s like it just piles on. So whatever job I get next, I definitely need to make sure that I don’t start at any time before 8:30 or 9. Maybe I’ll get lucky and find something that starts at noon or so.

I always thought it sucked that I was keeping opposite hours from my husband and daughter. But I’ve definitely learned that the suckiest part was that I wasn’t sleeping when my body wanted to. I’m much more awake when I’m up at the time my body wants to get up. And after I’m done babysitting, I’ll go back to getting lots of writing done, because my brain will be working again.

Posted August 31, 2009 by Maidenfine in Randomness, Writing

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

