30 Days of PreWriting, Day 19   Leave a comment

Today’s Link: http://www.amazon.com/What-Writing-Exercises-Fiction-Writers/dp/0205616887/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1255825008&sr=1-3

Okay. I don’t like linking to things that cost money, mostly because I don’t want people to think I’m getting something out of it. But this link isn’t so much about this particular book. It’s more about writing books as a species. Basically, it never hurts to have one or two around. I like this one because it has an exercise of some sort for pretty much anything you’re trying to do. Revising? Head to the revising section and see the different ideas there. Working on a character? There’s a section for that. Right now, for plotting? Section for that too.

Now, you can get a book that’s only about plotting, or only about revising, or a book that’s all about everything. And there are plenty of choices out there. This one just happened to be a textbook for a class I took and I liked it, so I’ve gone back to it more than a few times. I have a few other books around that I can turn to when I need a little help with something I’m working on. And while we’re preparing things for November, now is a good time to buy/read writing books that could come in handy next month.

Leave a Reply

