30 Days of PreWriting, Day 26   1 comment

Today’s Link: http://www.wikihow.com/Come-Up-with-a-Topic-to-Write-About

Okay, I know I said I’d given you as many as you could possibly need. But just in case, I found a couple more. For those of you that still still still don’t know what to write about, here’s an article about finding a topic. Basically, it’s brainstorming, but it’s a little more specific instruction on brainstorming for writing. So if nothing else, you can come up with a list of things that your main character might like to do. For NaNoWriMo, having a really detailed outline isn’t always required. It depends on the kind of writer you are. If I get stuck, I like to know where I’m going, so I can get unstuck. But if you have enough other tools, you could maybe get unstuck without knowing how you’re getting to the end of the book. I know I’ve allowed side tracks in my novels, or I’ve added things based on random plot helpers that are designed to get you unstuck. But generally, I like the comfort of having an outline. But if I manage to finish my first novel this month (I fully expect it to be 100k before it’s done, so I doubt it), I have several other ideas that aren’t outlined that I may tackle. Without an outline, though, I’m much more likely to become really really stuck. For a long time.

One response to “30 Days of PreWriting, Day 26

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really enjoying your blog. The Infectious Christmas post was funny.

Leave a Reply

