30 Days of PreWriting, Day 29   2 comments

Today’s Link: http://www.jennymeyerhoff.com/writers.html

This author has a lot of good advice on her page. But the really great stuff is her worksheets. She says that she’ll pull them out and go through them whenever she gets to a tough spot and I have to say, they probably work for that. I think they’d also work great for prewriting. And I’m looking forward to printing off several of the character worksheets. I like that they’re two pages, so they’ll fit nicely front to back on a single piece of paper. I can fill them out and stick them in my notebook, then if I need to add stuff later, I have a sheet for each character and I can just add it on. For me, it might work better than adding to the excel sheet. I love excel, but I’m a tactile person and sometimes I just need something to be on a piece of paper. And I like the handiness of having a front and back sheet. The worksheets that I’ve used in the past were multiple pages. This is more compact, and I like that.

2 responses to “30 Days of PreWriting, Day 29

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. would have liked to see more on Point of View and Voice! help, floundering around between first person and omnipotent scenes, need to straighten it out!

    • I tend to stick with 3rd Person mostly Omniscient, so I completely didn’t even think about Point of View as prewriting. And really, it doesn’t even have to be a part of your prewriting. Just write scenes in both and then when you figure out which one is most comfortable/suitable for the story, you can rewrite (after NaNo) any scenes that need to be switched. And as far as Voice goes, I find that it tends to come naturally once you start writing. You might have to change a few of the earliest written scenes, but I don’t know that you can necessarily find the Voice of a novel before you’re actually writing it. But I’ll try to maybe find some articles on both of those things in the next month. Better late than never, right?

Leave a Reply

