NaNoWriMo: Starting Over and Being Behind   Leave a comment

I have a confession to make. I have never been behind before. At least not for more than a day. Even the year that I didn’t finish, I was right on track to make the 50k before I got stuck and ended up quitting. But this year, I was behind for almost a week. Starting over on day 2, especially when I’d had such a measly word count for day 1, put me quite a bit behind. And my nervousness over not having a completely plotted out novel made it difficult to catch up at first.

I finally did catch up though, on a day that our region had a virtual write-in. I wrote over 4000 words in one day (and if I’d realized how close I was to a 5k day, I may have written more to make it there). I still feel nervous about a novel that’s so un-plotted in the middle, but at least I know where I’m headed and I’ve learned my weak spots over the last few years. So I’m hoping I’ll be okay. But I definitely decided that I don’t like being behind and I plan not to do that ever again.

Posted November 9, 2009 by Maidenfine in NaNoWriMo, Writing

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

