NaNoWriMo: The Home Stretch   1 comment

By the time this post goes up, I should be really really close to winning (like 3000 ish words away), if I’m not done already. Week Three was by far the hardest. And not even because of my novel. Week Three I was saddled with both jury duty and training with H&R Block for this next tax season. Which meant that by the time I got home in the evenings, I was too exhausted to get much writing done. Every single night of the week, my word count goal was 38k. And I didn’t hit that number until Saturday night.

I have definitely learned this year that my husband is more of a writing distraction than my daughter is. I can easily get several thousand words on a night when he’s working. But  night when he’s home, I don’t even always hit the basic word count goal of 1667 words.

I have also learned that my husband complains far less about my participation if I take the time to do the dishes before I get started on my writing. And I’ve been keeping him happy by making sure to cook dinner at night before he even knows he’s hungry. Which seems like the opposite of NaNo dogma. But I like the break. And since I’m winning before Thanksgiving, it’s apparently not a detriment to my wordcount.

My plans after winning: Choose a novel to focus on revising and preparing for this year’s ABNA. Assuming it’s going to happen again. And then, there’s NaNoEdMo to spend revising yet another novel. Now that I think I’ve figured out how to keep my focus, I have a feeling I’m going to get quite a bit more accomplished in the next year than I did last year.

Posted November 23, 2009 by Maidenfine in ABNA, NaNoWriMo, Writing

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

One response to “NaNoWriMo: The Home Stretch

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can’t write easily when my husband is home, either. My son hears the keys clacking, and he just asks me to turn on the Food Network for him, and he’s content, LOL. My husband thinks key clacking sounds means that it’s time for him to need a full rundown of everything from the household budget to which songs he should get o.O

Leave a Reply

