WLW: I Hate Being Sick   Leave a comment

I have been sick for about a week. It started out as a headache, then bloomed into a full-blown head cold. After a couple days of that, the congestion decided to go vacationing in my chest region. And it seemed to like it there, because it’s been hanging out there ever since.

I am getting better. I’ve been taking some generic Claritin stuff and Mucinex DM. I think in a day or two, I’ll be back to normal. And my weight loss hasn’t stopped (I lost 2 lbs this week!), but I think that’s more due to the fact that I don’t eat much when I’m sick. I have consistently been low on calories for the last three days. Taht might sound great, but the fact is, I don’t want my body to decide that I’m starving and start storing stuff up again. So I am very not okay with eating too few calories (can you tell that I’m not a dieter?). But when I’m sick, it’s so darn hard to motivate myself into the kitchen to cook. I know I should go in and cook some chicken and rice and vegetables. But instead, I pull out one of the Lean Pockets that still seem to be in the freezer.

And yes, I know. There are much worse things to eat than Lean Pockets (like the KitKat that iI shared witht he baby the other day). But the point is that I wasn’t eating what I should have been. And I’m sure that has something to do with how long this cold has been hangign around. My daughter seems almost all better already. And guess who makes sure she eats like she’s supposed to.

I definitely need to learn to start treating my body like I treat hers. At the first sign of sickness, I start pumping her full of juice and putting saline drops in her nose and running the humidifier. I don’t do those things for myself. Maybe that’s part of my problem.

Current Weight: 188

Goal Weight: 165

Note: I’ve noticed that people seem to be really interested in my Weight Loss Wednesday posts, and that’s awesome. No problem with that. But I thought I should mention, for those that are interested, that I’m also blogging weight loss stuff on SparkPeople. I’ve been trying to post at least a little bit every day. So if you’re really into these posts, you might be interested in them there. My username is (of course) Maidenfine.

Leave a Reply

