Oh Geez! Two Weeks in a Row?   Leave a comment

This time I wasn’t even sick. Just really busy. One of these days, I’m going to have to sit down and just write three or four blog posts to get myself ahead. Then maybe I won’t have this problem.

So, I just now realized it was Monday. Sounds weird, I know. I even had appointments today. So it’s not like I didn’t know what day it was. It just didn’t dawn on me that it was Monday, and I needed to put a blog post up.

I made a discovery today, though, and it really makes a better blog post than I would have put up if I’d done it last night or the night before. I love lists. Now, that’s not really a new discovery. There was a time when I was an intense list-maker. I would make lists of the lists that I needed to make. But this was in high school and college when I had homework assignments to keep track of and such. I haven’t needed that sort of organization for a while. So I’ve gotten out of practice. Unfortunately, I’ve also gotten out of the practice of getting things done. So, at the suggestion of another person, I made a list of things I needed to get done today (I forgot the blog post). And then I got everything done! Somehow, in the last 5 years since I was in school, I forgot how great a list can be. But it was wonderful! I got my workout done early on in the day, even. It’s normally something I put off until the end of the day and then feel too tired to actually do. But not today. Today, it was done shortly after breakfast.

I plan to test out the true value of the list this week at work. I’ve mentioned how distracted I get there, and I don’t really think that’s going to go away. But the same friend that mentioned the lists, also mentioned taking headphones, so that maybe I can at least cut down on the distractions a little. And maybe a list of the bare minimum I want to accomplish in a day means I get to break things down. I think part of the reason my editing has slowed to something even less than a crawl is that I get daunted by the sheer amount of editing that needs to be done. I’ve done a lot of work on the beginning, but the whole thing needs just as much work. So it’s a big task. But now it’s on my to-do lists in chunks of a few scenes at a time. If I finish more, awesome. But I can consider my list item a minimum amount to get done. And if I get it done, I’ll be done with the whole thing before I know it.

I’ll let you know how the lists work this week.

Leave a Reply

