Learning Every Day   1 comment

My daughter, who is two and a half, learns something new every day. Usually, it’s the alphabet or practicing at counting (which she’s doing really good at). Sometimes, it’s colors or shapes. But she’s at an age where it’s easy to learn something every day, because there’s still so much for her to learn. But, even though there’s less out there for me to learn, there’s still always more. And in my search for homeschooling supplies and curriculum for her, I’ve found that it’s easy for me to try to learn something every day too. One day, I might learn a new method of organization. Another, I might learn a little Spanish (it’s on my to-do list and I found a great way to do it). Or, like the other day, maybe I read up on a different way to edit a manuscript. And it’s all great knowledge. There’s so much out there still. And I’m definitely learning that it’s still fun to learn.

In elementary school, I was a sponge. I would learn anything and everything and it was all great. Then I hit middle school and some difficulties getting into classes that would actually challenge me. And after that, things pretty much went downhill. I still enjoyed learning, I just didn’t particularly feel like I was doing a lot of it at school. College was better, but after some indecision regarding my major, I ended up there for 6 years with nothing to show for it. And if I decide to go back now, I’m switching back to my original major, even though it will mean an additional 2-3 years. At least this time around, I know what I actually want to do and I’ve learned how to follow through. But the point is that all this homeschooling research and looking for workbooks and thinking about future years when we’ll be doing science and history and math. . . It’s reminding me of how much I loved learning before it got so difficult to find someone willing to teach me. And I’m really hoping that since I’m homeschooling my daughter, she will never hit that bureaucratic wall. My biggest goal in homeschooling is to help my daughter retain her love of learning, and help her to keep doing it, every day for the rest of her life.

Now, I need to go and print out some pictures for her alphabet book. We’re on the letter D today.

One response to “Learning Every Day

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. TRY BAKER UNIVERSITY IN TOPEKA…I FOUND THEIR TEACHERS WERE ALWAYS VERY HELPFUL AND EVEN CAME TO MY HOUSE TO HELP ME FINISH MY THESIS FOR A DEADLINE TO GRADUATE FOR MY MBA IN YEAR 2000 AND I DID IT ALL AT NIGHT, ATTENDING EVENINGS, WORKING FULL TIME AT THE BNSF RAILROAD. I AM SO THANKFUL THEY PAID 70% OF MY COST TOO. JEAN

Leave a Reply

