New Job, Old Fatigue   2 comments

Well, I think it was possibly my shortest job search ever, and it ended with two job offers. Which was a new experience for me. I had to ask for help in order to decide between the two jobs. So I spent the last two weeks of May beginning my new job at OfficeMax. So far, I really like it there.  The people I’m working with are friendly and fun, and I’m working on the Impress side (aka the copy/print side) so I get to do something different every day. Not to mention, I’ve worked with a lot of the machines in other jobs. Just not all of them together. So it feels kind of like a job that combines a lot of my previous jobs together, which gives me a lot of confidence when I’m doing it. Even though I have to ask quite a few questions right now, I know that part is just temporary.

Another part that I’m hoping is just temporary is the fatigue I’ve been dealing with. Before this job, I was either unemployed or working at a job where I sat at a desk. So I haven’t had such a physical job in probably six years. Maybe more. When you add the general fatigue of being pregnant, it basically means that on days when I work, I’ve been going home and basically zoning out until bedtime. Most nights, I’ve been too tired to even write (which really screwed up my May Challenge at 750words.com). But I’m hoping that once I get used to the activity level, I will regain my ability to think after a day at work. I think the fact that I’ve been working early days has contributed too. While I was unemployed, I definitely started to get used to the hours that my husband and daughter were keeping. Getting up before 10:30am was pretty difficult those first few days.  Once I’m mostly trained though, I’m pretty sure I’m not going to be working those early mornings. So I can handle it for now.

Depending on how the week goes, I may or may not be able to actually talk about writing next week. Here’s hoping my brain learns how to function after an 8 hour workday.

2 responses to “New Job, Old Fatigue

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I always thought it would be cool to work there. I like seeing things made. Besides the bookstores, it’s one of my favorite places to go. Weird, I know.

    I’ll have to come in and print off a manuscript for submission soon, maybe I’ll see you.

    Hope you get your energy back.

    • Yeah. I think I’m slowly adapting to it. And I’ve learned to bring crackers or something for the random drops in my blood sugar (yay pregnancy). And really, I don’t mind being tired at the end of a day, just because that means I’ve worked hard. But when the end of the day is at 4pm, there’s still a lot of day left. My schedule this next week is mostly later in the day though. So if I’m exhausted at 9, that’s fine with me.

Leave a Reply

