Marriage Resources   Leave a comment

I’m going to be honest. My marriage hasn’t been in the greatest of places in the last couple years. In fact, on more than one occasion, it almost ceased to exist. But I’m nothing if not stubborn. And I’m not much of a quitter either. So I’ve stuck it out, and luckily, so has my husband, so now we’re starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Most days. During all of this, however, I’ve come across a few resources that I found useful.

Simple Marriage: The guy who runs this blog is a marriage counselor. He occasionally runs marriage help classes online, as well as emailing free information. He talks a lot about communication, in particular, but he also blogs about simplifying your life, too. Our communication problems were more of a symptom than a cause, but I still found this helpful in trying to repair our communication so that we could begin to work on the real stuff.

Christian Nymphos: In a book I was reading lately, the author stated that no couple with a satisfying sex life ever came to him about getting a divorce. While it’s simplistic to think that changing your sex life can save a marriage, it’s still an important part of a healthy marriage. And they talk all about it here. have a position of the week and they discuss all sorts of sexual issues in a biblical context.

The Marriage Bed: Another Christian sex site. This one feels a little more WebMD-ish, but still has good information.

The Generous Wife: This site and it’s companion site, The Generous Husband, are both about how to be more generous and loving to your spouse. They give ideas and thoughts every day for how to show your spouse how much you love them. Some of the ideas were total flops in my marriage, but mostly because of love language issues.

Have a New Husband By Friday: This should maybe actually get it’s own post, since it’s a book, but it fits this so here it is. This book was a smattering of Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus, The Five Love Languages, and a bunch of other stuff that I’ve read on the other sites I listed. But the way it takes all those elements and presents them was totally new. And it also helped me to know that I was on the right track with the things I’d been trying over the last year and a half to fix things.

I also read a lot of blogs and websites that talked about being a better homemaker. They wouldn’t necessarily be helpful to a lot of marriages, but my husband is an Acts of Service person, so the state of my house is very important to how much he feels loved.

I hope this list of resources helps someone else that might be having issues in their marriage.

Leave a Reply

