Birdsong   Leave a comment

I’ve never been much of a bird enthusiast. I like birds. I think they’re pretty amazing creatures. But I’ve never been good at looking at a bird and knowing what kind it was. So when my daughter checked out a book called Birdsong from the library, it wasn’t like I was super excited.

Then we read it at bedtime. And the book has the words that each bird’s song sounds like in the text. Only, I didn’t really know what most of the birds sounded like, so I wasn’t sure if I was getting anywhere close. So I went searching for birdsongs that you can listen to online. What I found was eNature. It’s the greatest little site. You can search for all kinds of animals and when you find them you can look at what is basically an encyclopedia page for that animal. Only better. Most of the birds had a spot where you could listen to their song, as well as look at pictures and read about them.

The best part? You can create lists. So after signing up for a free membership and making a list of birds, we can now read B9irdsong while listening to the actual birdsongs of the birds we’re reading about. It makes the book ten times better, and I know that it’s showing my daughter that there’s more to a book than just reading it at bedtime.

Anybody else read any good books lately?

EDIT: I also want to mention that next week, I’ll be hosting my very first giveaway on my blog. I’m very excited and I hope you are too.

Posted August 11, 2011 by Maidenfine in Randomness, Reading

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

