When Plans Go Awry   Leave a comment

At the end of September, my husband is changing shifts. Instead of working overnight on the weekends, he’ll be working days during the week. It’s going to be a big change for our family. I decided that I was going to try to switch myself to the new schedule early, so at least one of us wouldn’t be a cranky mess when the time comes.

It hasn’t worked out so well. I’ve been awake at 6am yesterday and today, but it hasn’t quite been right. Yesterday, Nathan had appointments, but today I went back to sleep without even getting out of bed. My sinuses seem to have exploded with something and if I could go five minutes without my eyes wanting to close on me, I might consider it a miracle. Being sick is such a detriment to achieving goals.

I won’t be sick forever though, so I’m trying not think of this as failure. It’s merely a postponement of my plans. As soon as I’m well again, I’ll be up at 6am and getting a start on my day that’s better than watching TV while I nod off.

I’m very much looking forward to the change in our schedules. We’ll actually be able to institute a routine, since my availability at work will be more regular. And having a routine is so important. It will mean being able to keep up on housework, and not forgetting Elisebeth’s schoolwork. And kids crave structure. Elisebeth goes through phases of misbehavior that I think will improve when our schedule is less chaotic.

I know that a change in schedule will be hard to handle, but I think it may be just what our family needs.

Posted August 30, 2011 by Maidenfine in Randomness

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

