I’m Alive!   Leave a comment

I met all my blog-related goals in January. I got my blog ported over to my own domain. I got a basic site up on the other site pages. I even posted a few times. And then February happened. I’d been kinda sorta sick through most of January, so by the end of the month, I was exhausted. I feel like I slept through most of February, trying to kick the sickness that had invaded my home and didn’t want to leave. It seemed like every time we kicked it, we’d go to church and get it all over again.

Then enter March. I volunteered to be our church’s VBS Director this year. Unlike other churches, we don’t do our VBS during the summer. We host kids all day over Spring Break, providing a safe place for children who might not otherwise have childcare that week. It’s a lot of work, and I sometimes felt like most of my brainpower was used up, but last week was finally VBS time.

We hosted 37 children last week. And one young boy committed his life to Christ. There were no major emergencies and our Family Night went off without a hitch. Unless you count my daughter trying to attach herself to my leg a hitch. We also gave out at least 30 pocket Bibles. My husband gave out one and then that kid showed his friend and that kid wanted one too and then after that, it was a steady stream of kids into the church office for Bibles. Which was really awesome for me to watch while I was in there doing paperwork. And this week, we’re working on setting up appointments to visit all the VBS families with bags of goodies.

All that to say that yes, I am alive. And yes, I do intend to get back into the habit of posting. And hopefully, that’ll include some cool stuff. To start off with, I’m going to be reviewing a homeschooling product. School time with my daughter has slacked off a bit in the last couple months too. I don’t worry about it too much, since she’s only a preschooler and she really just needs to be learning her alphabet, and that happens almost on accident around here. But I want to develop a habit of making her schoolwork happen at least 4 days a week (since my hubby works 4 days a week so the other 3 are usually random and busy). So, before I get started with the trying out, there’s a disclaimer I need to post.

Over the next 30 days, I will be reviewing Time4Learning’s online education program. It can be used as a homeschool curriculum, an afterschool tutorial or for summer learning. My opinion will be entirely my own, so be sure to come back and read about my experience. You can write your own curriculum review, too!

Posted March 28, 2012 by Maidenfine in Church, God

Leave a Reply

