FF: From Cabin 6 at Camp NaNoWriMo   Leave a comment

So, I’m not doing much better at Camp NaNoWriMo than I did at the regular thing in November. It’s a little disheartening that I used to have 10k days and on the 1st, I struggled to hit 1500 words. My mojo has most definitely wandered off somewhere. Maybe I’ll send a search party out after it. And the applications for returning MLs are out right now, so I need to decide if I’m done with this stuff or not. The problem is, I don’t know if I am. I’ve been struggling. Big time. But at the end of the day, I love NaNoWriMo. I love everything about it. I love having a ridiculous goal that I’ve met multiple times (even though I can’t seem to figure it out right now). I love writing with other people, or even just going to a coffee shop and sitting there to write. I love getting into this part of my brain that I don’t normally access. This part of my brain that houses plots and characters I don’t even know about until I start typing and they just appear. I love having people all around the world cheer me on just for the sheer effort of putting fingers to keys. I don’t have to write anything good, I just have to write. I love the idea that there are thousands of people around the world doing the same thing that I am. And I love that when people donate to the Office of Letters and Light (the nonprofit behind all this), schools all over get amazing materials designed to teach children to love to write too. And that’s on top of all the NaNoWriMo goodness they put on every year.

But my mojo ran away. And no matter how much I love NaNoWriMo, if I can’t find that rascally mojo, it’s all for naught. Because MLs are required to attempt the novel. So as much as I’d love to say “Let me help and I’ll just skip the novel,” that’s a no-go. Which means I better find my mojo really fast, or I’ll have to forget all of it altogether.

Anybody seen a mojo running around?

Disclosure: The donation link goes to my personal fundraising page, which just means that I get credit for my fundraising efforts on behalf of the Office of Letters and Light. This could mean prizes for me. But I’m really terrible about remembering how these things work. I really just think they’re an awesome non-profit and the rest makes no difference to me.

Leave a Reply

